What to Do After a Car Accident in Nevada?
Car accidents and crashes, sadly, are very common in Nevada, with thousands of cases reported almost every year. If you end up sustaining injuries because someone was negligent behind the wheels, you should consider asking for compensation. Nevada follows the at-fault rule, which means that the driver at fault will be held responsible for their action. Also, all car owners are required to carry mandatory liability insurance in the state. The victim can file a personal injury lawsuit against the party at fault, or else, just file a claim with their insurance company for a settlement. Law firms like Naqvi Accident Injury Law can guide on such matters and how to handle things with insurance companies. In this post, we are sharing more on what you should do after a car accident in Nevada.
- Report the accident. You have to stop and report the accident right away. Keep in mind that this is mandatory anyway under law if the accident has led to property damage that can be assumed to be worth $750 or more. Stop at the accident site and report the incident to Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles. If you didn’t do that right away, do that within 10 days.
- Check if someone needs help. Try and help others at the accident site. If you are injured, call 911 and get help. This is important not just for you, but everyone around. Don’t let anyone talk you out of calling the police.
- Take details of everyone involved. If you are physically capable, try and take pictures of the accident site. Also, take the contact details of everyone who is involved in the car accident. Check if there were any witnesses to the accident.
Call a car accident attorney
You have to consider calling a car accident attorney as soon as possible. Your attorney is your biggest asset for knowing what your claim is worth and if the matter should be pursued in the court. As needed, they will negotiate things further with the insurance company and ensure that the settlement is fair. Your attorney needs to have a fair idea of your situation and they must have experience of trials. Ensure that your attorney is working on a contingency basis, which means that they only get paid if they win.
Now that you know the basics, keep these things in consideration as you drive in Nevada. If you have part blame in an accident, it can impact your compensation.
Comments are closed.